How You Can Undo a Sent Email in Gmail

There are so many occasions when you just curse that why you sent an email – for example an email with admission of a secret love affair or you accidentally replied-all in the email. You feel like there is no way you can pull time back.

However, if you are using Gmail, there is a new feature which is available in the Gmail Labs settings that can save you a lot of regret. By turning this setting on you can get a time window of 30 second to “undo” an outgoing email.

But for that setting to work you need to enable it first.  Here is how you can do this:

Click on gear icon in your Gmail window at the upper right corner and from the drop down menu select settings.

From the row of windows above select Labs and scroll to the bottom to find the feature Undo Send. Enable this and hit Save Changes button down.

Now whenever you will send an email , you will get a message “Your message has been sent. Undo. View Message.” By default you will get 10 seconds to hit the Undo button to stop that email from going out but you can increase the time window up to 30 seconds by going to Settings>Undo Send and selecting a cancellation period of your choice.

However, please keep in mind that features made available in Gmail Labs are only experimental in nature and may or may not work and may actually disappear someday without any warning.

Share This Post

Post Comment